Site Kit offers several ways to deactivate, disconnect, and uninstall the plugin and associated account links. 

Deactivate Site Kit temporarily

USE IF: You plan to use Site Kit in the future and you want Site Kit-placed snippets and Site Kit’s connection to your Google account to remain in place, but you want to temporarily turn the plugin off.

To deactivate:

  • In the WordPress admin, go to Plugins
  • Find the Site Kit plugin and click Deactivate. You can reactivate Site Kit at any time.

Delete the Site Kit plugin and snippets placed on your site

USE IF: You want to remove Site Kit-placed snippets, the Site Kit connection to your Google account, and all Site Kit-related data in your WordPress database. If you do wish to use Site Kit in the future, you will need to go through the setup process again.

To delete Site Kit, its connection to your Google account, and all associated data in the WordPress database:

  • Reset Site Kit at Site Kit > Settings > Admin Settings > Reset Site Kit
  • Then, delete the plugin at Plugins > Site Kit > Deactivate and then click Delete

Note that Site Kit also utilizes a service for the connection between your site and your connected Site Kit Google services. When you uninstall Site Kit, your site’s record in the service will be earmarked for deletion in 60 days unless the plugin is reinstalled and reactivated.

Revoke access to Site Kit for a specific site

USE IF: You want to disconnect your Google account from one or more (but not all) sites that are connected to Site Kit, but continue to use Site Kit-placed snippets on the associated site(s). For example, this is a useful method if you are a developer who is no longer managing a particular site for a client. Note that your user data will remain in the WordPress database. If you also want to remove your user data, follow the steps in Disconnect Site Kit from your Google account below.

To revoke access:

  • In the WordPress admin, go to Site Kit > Dashboard
  • Click your Google account in the Site Kit navigation bar and select Manage sites
The Manage sites option within Site Kit

On the Third-party sites with account access screen, select Remove access next to the appropriate site.

Disconnect Site Kit from your Google account

USE IF: You want to disconnect your Google account (including your credentials, preferences, and user data from the WordPress database) from a site that you are connected to, but not affect any data associated with the broader site, such as snippets and site-based settings.

To disconnect:

  • In the WordPress admin, go to Site Kit > Dashboard
  • Click your Google account in the Site Kit navigation bar and select Disconnect
The Disconnect option