This option deactivates the Site Kit plugin temporarily. It has no effect on the snippets placed by the plugin on your site, the data in the Google tools you set up, or user credentials. You can reactivate Site Kit at any time, and all your data and user credentials will be restored.

To deactivate Site Kit temporarily:

  1. Go to your WordPress Dashboard > Plugins page.
  2. Find the Site Kit plugin and click Deactivate. You can reactivate Site Kit at any time.

This option deletes the Site Kit plugin and all snippets that Site Kit placed on your site.

For example, if you set up Google Analytics through Site Kit, this action deletes the Analytics snippet on your site. You’ll still have access to your Analytics account, but your Analytics dashboard won’t show data past the date you removed the snippet from your site. If you reinstall Site Kit, you’ll have to replace the snippets on your site in the setup flow.

To delete the Site Kit plugin and snippets placed on your site:

  1. Go to your WordPress Dashboard > Plugins page.
  2. Find the Site Kit plugin and click Delete.

This option resets the plugin, which provides a clean slate without deleting the plugin itself. It deletes all snippets that Site Kit placed on your site and any preferences you set in Site Kit.

For example, if you set up Analytics through Site Kit, this action deletes the Analytics snippet on your site. You’ll still have access to your Analytics account, but your Analytics dashboard won’t show data past the date you removed the snippet from your site.

  1. In your WordPress dashboard, go to Site Kit > Settings > Admin Settings and click Reset Site Kit.
  2. Once you reinstall the plugin, you’ll need to set up Site Kit again and add additional Google tools.

You can revoke access for individual sites if you no longer want Site Kit to access data for a given site. This option doesn’t delete any data; it only removes access for a specific site.

  1. To revoke access on a site-by-site basis, right-click your Google Account in the Site Kit navigation bar and select Manage sites.

This option removes the connection between your Google Account data and Site Kit, including any snippets placed on your site, your credentials, and preferences. This action won’t affect other admins on your site.

  1. To disconnect Site Kit from your account, right-click your Google Account in the Site Kit navigation bar and select Disconnect.